Way of the Cross: Stations and Meditations from Arkansas

 The following Stations of the Cross offer reflections from Catholics in Arkansas. They are accompanied by illustrations from indoor, outdoor and live stations at churches and monasteries across the state. Together the meditations and artwork show the beauty and diversity of God's revelation to humanity. The Diocese of Little Rock may encompass the entire state of Arkansas, but we are one in the body of Christ. Order on DVD.

Station 1: Jesus is Condemned to Death

Meditation: Bishop Anthony B. Taylor, Diocese of Little Rock

Station 2: Jesus Carries His Cross

Meditation: Cackie Upchurch, Former Director, Little Rock Scripture Study

Station 3: Jesus Falls for the First Time

Meditation: Chris Thomas, St. Edward, Texarkana

Station 4: Jesus Meets His Mother

Meditation: María Velázquez, Secretary, Office of the Bishop

Station 5: Simon Helps Jesus Carry His Cross

Meditation: Bishop Erik Pohlmeier, Former Director, Faith Formation Office

Station 6: Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus

Meditation: Debbie Eckert, St. Joseph, Conway

 Station 7: Jesus Falls the Second Time

Meditation: Deacon Chuck Ashburn, Assistant Director, Vocations and Seminarians Office

Station 8: Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem

Meditation: Father Jerome Kodell, OSB, Subiaco Abbey

Station 9: Jesus Falls the Third Time

Meditation: Father Tony Robbins, Diocese of Little Rock

Station 10: Jesus is Stripped of His Clothes

Meditation: Betsy McNeil, St. Vincent de Paul, Rogers

Station 11: Jesus is Nailed to the Cross

Meditation: Father Rubén Quinteros, Pastor, Immaculate Heart of Mary, North Little Rock (Marche)

Station 12: Jesus Dies on the Cross

Meditation: Betsy Wiederkehr Huss, St. John Newman University Parish, Jonesboro

Station 13: Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross

Meditation: Edward Dodge, Teacher, Catholic High School, Little Rock

Station 14: Jesus is Placed in the Tomb

Meditation: Christie Powell, Youth Minister, Immaculate Conception Church, North Little Rock

Related Resources

What are the Stations of the Cross?

This ancient, Lenten meditation now consists of 14 stations, taken both from Scripture and tradition, that focus on the passion and death of Jesus.

How to Pray the Stations

This article explains the most common approach and others other resources to pray the stations online in a variety of ways depending on your needs.

Walking in the Footsteps of Christ

Explore the "Via Dolorosa" ("Way of the Cross") in Jerusalem that follows the route believed to have been taken by Jesus when he was crucified.

Stations of the Cross in Parishes

Parishes across the Diocese of Little Rock are hosting Stations of the Cross to deepen the experience of the liturgical season. See this schedule for a parish near you or contact a parish for more details.

Stabat Mater

The ("Mother was Standing") is a 13th-century Catholic hymn about Mary's pain at the foot of her Son's cross. The message of the hymn focuses on the bond that unites Mary and all Christians to the death of Jesus on the cross.