2017 jubilarian priest Mass to be June 27

Published: June 20, 2017


En Español

Mass of Thanksgiving will be celebrated Tuesday, June 27 to honor six priests who are celebrating 25 and 50 years of priestly service in the Diocese of Little Rock.

Bishop Anthony B. Taylor will be the main celebrant. The Mass will begin at 5:30 p.m. at the Cathedral of St. Andrew in Little Rock. A dinner reception will follow in McDonald Hall that is open to everyone. No reservations are required. All are invited.

Those celebrating 50 years are: Father Ralph Esposito, retired; Father William Wewers, OSB, pastor of Holy Redeemer Church in Clarksville; and Father Richard Walz, OSB, of Subiaco Abbey. Those celebrating 25 years are: Father Edwin Graves, retired; Father Chinnaiah Yeddanapalli, pastor of the Church of St. John the Baptist in Hot Springs; and Father Benoit Mukamba, CSSp, pastor of St. Mary Church in Helena, St. Andrew Church in Marianna, St. Francis of Assisi Church in Forrest City, St. John the Baptist Church in Brinkley and St. Mary of the Lake Church in Horseshoe Lake.

To learn more about these priests and others who have celebrated these anniversaries, read "Jubilee! A Series in Celebration" in Arkansas Catholic. All other retired priests of the diocese also will be honored at the Mass. If unable to attend the Mass, please say a prayer of thanksgiving for their many years of faithful service caring for the flock. For more information, contact María Velázquez, secretary of Bishop Taylor, at (501) 664-0340.